Vail Reviews

Read honest reviews, direct from our customers.

If you’ve recently returned from this resort, we’d love to hear from you.

If no reviews are available yet, ask for first-hand advice from Ski Safari staff who have visited this resort. Call us on 01273 224 060.

Leave a Review

16/04/2019 Jo Dean

We stayed at Lionshead base area which on reflection we thought was a much better location for getting to ski areas than Vail Village with less of a walk even though it was primarily chosen for it's much cheaper accommodation. Free buses to Vail are every 5 minutes in the evening or a pleasant 15 minute walk off main roads. Fantastic ski area, very well managed, lots of 'information' people around at base and lifts to help guide you to where you want to go. Slightly disappointed that 3 weeks before end of season several eating places on mountain were already closed and others continued to close as we neared the end of our holiday. Had we arrived for UK Easter break holidays I would have been really disappointed and annoyed at the lack of places open on mountain. Although there are advantages such as quiet slopes, we also like a bit of atmosphere at a ski resort and Vail seemed to lack this at this time of year compared to many others we have visited. Not important to everyone, but Vail surprisingly really hasn't got to grips with healthy eating choices (Park City a month earlier was really on it!) If you have Vegetarians in your ski group as we did the choices were very limited and not always available. 100% recommend the resort but check it out carefully towards the end of season.

12/04/2019 Anne McDonald

Wonderful resort. Beautiful snow conditions, well marked runs, very quiet on pistes - ideal.

07/04/2019 Lynne Charlesworth

Skiing in Vail was fantastic. We enjoyed exploring Vail Village and found it interesting to see things like the ski museum and the display of the Vail 10th Division WW2 regiment.

13/03/2019 Caroline Wallace

We LOVE Vail, 4th year running for us. Amazing: if you want great snow, varied pistes, beginners slopes, ski school, family runs, powder bowls & back country, this is the place for you. Can’t fault anything, ski heaven.

02/03/2019 David Weston

Pretty much as WTSSB.com summary. Impressive lift packers at busy periods. Avoided weekend queues by skiing at Beaver Creek via cheap express shuttle ($1 each way for over 60's). Intrusion of I70 quite minor. Lionshead end of town very urban and ugly. The buildings surrounding the ice rink extreme "USA Ski Resort Real Estate" style. Village end much better. Blue Sky Basin excellent. Skiing museum at Vail transportation centre very good. Lancelot restaurant was our best dining experience.

12/02/2019 Graham Melhuish

Vail's the best ski resort we have visited, when it snows it has massive selection of bowls to board and ski. If it has not snowed for a while (it’s happened once) the pistes are always excellent, they even bash during the day, and you can always find some untouched snow.

03/02/2019 Susan Walker

Been to Vail many times and it remains a favourite

04/01/2019 Stephen Gibbins

Easy to get around in Vail with excellent bus service between Lionshead and Vail. No more than 5 mins. Direct access to the slopes from the bus stops. Snow was fantastic and the trails all in good condition and well groomed. All lifts officially open from 8.30 but there is the chance to go up the mountain earlier. Local TV channels give an excellent report on weather and snow conditions.

03/02/2018 Robin Gravestock

It really is the best skiing you can get, nothing compares to the size and the grooming, we have seen 13 piste bashers in a row, mid afternoon making sure your last run down is on smooth snow. Cons, mountain top food is very expensive and stoggy. Save money and eat back down at the base where you get much better meals, we would be be first lift but stop for the day at 2 and have late lunch at bottom.

19/01/2018 Graham Ponting

Vail has become very expensive owing to the weak pound but it is still a lovely place to holiday. Very upmarket, very friendly people and none of your Val D'Isere riff raff!

Pages