RED Mountain Resort Reviews

Read honest reviews, direct from our customers.

If you’ve recently returned from this resort, we’d love to hear from you.

If no reviews are available yet, ask for first-hand advice from Ski Safari staff who have visited this resort. Call us on 01273 224 060.

Leave a Review

26/03/2019 David Chalmers

Excellent. Surprising amount of intermediate terrain - very different resort from a few years ago.

25/02/2019 Christopher Malpass

Good all round service at the base of the resort - for rental skis and passes. Excellent Snow host available free twice a day at 9.00 am and 12.30 pm. Superb and varied runs - especially through pine forests. Only niggle was the lack of footrests on some lifts.

16/02/2019 Martin Dawson

When we arrived there hadn't been fresh snow for a few days and temperatures were above average for January, this meant plenty of huge moguls in the trees and an occasional sun crust. Red is a genuinely challenging hill, so throw in slightly below par snow conditions and you may find yourself dreaming of European pistes. Hit it in the right conditions and if you like it steep and tight in the trees you'll be in for a great time. Despite the lack of fresh snow in resort we had a good day with Big Red Cats, guides just have a knack of finding the soft stuff and they're a really friendly outfit. Back in resort the lodge at the mountain base is good for a few drinks at the end of the day but otherwise, like many Canadian resorts, if you're staying in resort there's nothing at the ski hill after early evening and you'll need to head 30 minutes down the hill to Rossland to find signs of life. If the snow had been better I'd probably be rating the resort higher - but hey, that's not their fault and it's all part of skiing.

12/02/2019 nicky hudson

See last years review - comments still stand. Snow conditions were not as good as last year's but still great terrain to ski. Kirkup Cat Ski was open this year whilst we were there - really good fun, the perfect way to have an introduction to Cat Skiing.

17/04/2018 Debb Bouch

A great resort if you like your runs gnarly and don't mind slow chairs. Tree skiing probably the best in North America - there's so much you never do the same run from one day to the next. Don't bother if you like groomers - there's not much here for you although the grooming team do a good job of keeping the connections running smoothly. The locals are friendly and the slopes are generally uncluttered - although there were a lot more people this year. Hope this isn't a trend.

30/03/2018 Jono Gray

Great ski area and lots of good runs. Really enjoyed Red and thought the new(ish) Paradise Lodge was great for a lunchtime bite and beer! We’re on snowboards and explored lots of Red over the three days, but there’s plenty more and would definitely go back. The mountain has lots of gladed tree runs, so you can really explore the ski area. We even managed to find some small powder meadows within the ski area! Great, would recommend a visit.

20/02/2018 Nicky Hudson

You may not have heard of Red Mountain Resort, but it is a real “GEM” in Canada’s “Powder Highway” The resort is currently made up of three peaks, Red, Granite and Grey, and you can pretty much ride / ski where ever you want to go within the ski boundary, just pick your line and go……….. There are some mellow runs, but the terrain is probably better suited to the intermediate and advanced and will be loved by those looking for great blacks, and double blacks. Great tree runs and powder galore, so if you want to improve your skills in the powder, trees and off piste you can dip in and out building your confidence as you go. There is a resort operated Cat-Ski area on Mt Kirkup, priced at $10 per run so this is a great way to try Cat-Skiing without breaking the bank. Or alternatively there is an independent operator in Red Village for those wanting to go for the day, they have terrain off site which you travel to via mini bus after meeting for breakfast and safety checks. Unfortunately we didn’t book this in advance and they were fully booked for the duration of our stay, so I would advise to book this before you travel to avoid disappointment. It snowed every day of our visit, by the end of a week we had a good 2.5 feet of snow on the roof of our hire car !!!! We had a fabulous time and would highly recommend a visit. Red is now in our top 3 Canadian resorts.

09/03/2017 eric galloway

Could be excellent with the right conditions. We needed a dump of the white stuff to allow us to use the off piste areas... didn't get to Cat ski! Day out with the Mountain Host was fun and allowed us to make new friends. Nice Italian restaurant on the hill and good dining in Rossland.

15/02/2016 David Vander

V good skiing, very friendly locals, perhaps a little low for great snow guarantee.

26/02/2014 Andrew Bond

Great free shuttle bus from town to resort; v small town; large mountain with good variety of terrain.

Pages