Fernie Reviews

Read honest reviews, direct from our customers.

If you’ve recently returned from this resort, we’d love to hear from you.

If no reviews are available yet, ask for first-hand advice from Ski Safari staff who have visited this resort. Call us on 01273 224060.

Leave a Review

01/04/2015 Peter Allen

Great way to start a Ski Safari - good mix of runs to find your ski legs.

23/03/2015 David Horwood

Unfortunately, as with the other Canadian resorts this year, we did not hit Fernie at its best. Snowfall was poor, nevertheless we made the most of it as the groomers did a fantastic job with what they had available. Of the runs that were open, they worked very hard to keep them skiable. This did, however, leave very few shallow blues and greens available on the lower mountain. For skiers new to Fernie, please note the blues are steep and would be classed as blacks in resorts like Whistler and Lake Louise!

07/01/2015 Jeff Haddon

Fernie is a lovely town, the ski hill only a short drive away. Fernie gets legendary snowfall and didn't disappoint despite the base being low this year in Canada. Fresh snow on 3 days out of 4 and 20 cm on our departure day! There are green lower runs off elk and deer chair but the deer chair needs a refurb though the lift people will slow for beginners. The Blues are good for intermediates with bear the steepest. The bowls all have their own hidden gems with secret snow stashes. Some difficult to get to hence holding the snow for longer. Outside holiday times the resort is quiet but there is a 20cm rule for school and businesses. The polar peak chair may add vertical but it is not open regularly and if windy the chutes are a challenge and the blue track not really suitable. However there is enough for everyone and access to territory unpatrolled eg fish bowl and mammoth head, if the trickier traverse routes providing chutes and steeps and long mogul runs like sky dive are exhausted. There is a beginner park off deer with boxes and rails. I didn't head up Siberia where they used to have jumps and the boarder cross wasn't at the Deer chair this year. I would recommend Fernie and we went as part of a trip from Revelstoke which is a long drive but ok during the day. We ate at Kelsey's, park place Max restaurant, the Bridge bistro and the Sandford Indian restaurant. Often North American fare but there are others in town, however when the curry says hot that is what you get.

02/04/2014 Debbie Robinson

The mountain is AMAZING but the town is a little disappointing - not as much to do or places to eat as other resorts we've been to.

11/02/2014 Nik Saunders

Fernie's a great place to ski with varied terrain to suit almost everyone (probably except early intermediates.) Runs seem a little steeper here than in Europe. Each bowl has it's own character and you will need at least a week to really get to grips with this resort. The best food in the evening is found in the Corner Lodge in resort across the car park and The Pantry is the in resort general store 70 yards away.

19/03/2013 Bill Milburn

Visited with a group of 4 in March 2013. It took us about 4 and a half hours to drive from Calgary airport. There is enough good quality skiing in Fernie for 4 days for good skiers with good off piste available for the more advanced. We had great fresh powder for 2 out of 4 days and would expect that to be normal for this resort. There's only really one cafe on the slopes with pretty ordinary fast food offerings. The actual mountain resort centre is small with only 3 or 4 bars/restaurants, again typically Canadian/American in terms of food offered and they did all seem to close rather early (9ish). Fernie town centre wasn't anything to get excited about but we did have one really good meal at the Yamagama sushi place (very popular with big queues to get in) and one really poor Chinese meal at the Ginger Beef (not recommended) Overall, found Fernie to be a good place to visit as part of a multi centre holiday, more suited to good intermediates but we had pretty much done it all after 4 days.

11/02/2013 Theresa Croft

Great snow, very relaxed atmosphere, not touristy.

20/03/2012 Caroline Chambers

Throughly enjoyed skiing at Fernie, despite the closure of a number of bowls due to avalanche risk. There is something for everyone here, groomed runs for all abilities, ungroomed trails and lots of powder & tree skiing too. I'll definitely go back here

01/03/2012 Matthew Storry

Very good slopes, could have been signposted a bit more clearly. All staff were very friendly and the slopes were really quiet

17/04/2010 Liz Wren

We stayed at Fernie for a 9 day ski holiday in April 2010. We stayed at Snow Creek Lodge, which is right on the nursery slopes at Fernie Alpine Resort. This was the last week of the Fernie ski season, and just prior to our arrival it dumped about 50cm of new snow throughout the resort. Throughout our stay we had another 37cm at least of fine, light powder. Not a bad start! Despite being Easter weekend, the resort was quiet, and we didn't see a lift queue for the entire holiday. The terrain is vast, spread over 5 bowls, and the vast majority of each bowl is skiable. This made it really easy and fun, as with the exception of a few roped off areas with spring avalanche alerts, you could pick your own route down. Even on the 2nd day after snowfall it was possible to find new powder, although we were helped here by taking a Family ski lesson (effectively a semi-private lesson - good value for up to 5 members of your family) The terrain is all fairly steep, making it ideal for confident skiers, but none of the main pistes were terrifying! Due to this Fernie is probably not so good for learning, more timid skiers or younger children. Snow conditions on all but a few exposed slopes were very good while we were there, and where slopes were groomed, it was done really well. There have been criticisms in the past about poor piste maps and signage, however we didn't get too lost and it didn't really matter too much. Some of the black runs and gulleys were difficult to find, but you can always ask! There is a lot of back-country if you are into hiking (not for us!), although at this time of the year there is a high avalanche risk due to the steepness of the slopes. We particularly enjoyed the many tree runs, which were beautifully gladed (or just natural?) allowing lots of choice of route. The run-out to resort was getting very worn towards the end of the holiday, the resort is not high and so might suffer in warm weather. Other skiers were friendly and well mannered, mainly other Canadians, often out from Calgary for the weekend. We did hear that it is not a great resort for boarders because there are a number of traverses, however this did seem to be stopping the boarders that we saw! The ski-school was good - our daughter had a private boarding lesson when booked in for a group lesson, as there were no other candidates. Overall, a great ski holiday. Ski-in ski-out accommodation was great. There is a well-stocked, if expensive, grocery store a short walk across the nursery slope, and a few restaurants. A couple had shut prior to the end of season, and we did feel that everyone was winding down for the end of the week. You really wouldn't come here for the après scene. Very limited number of bars and early closing. Most people seem to adjourn to their hot tub with a can of beer! Still, there is an hourly bus service into the town of Fernie, a few miles down the valley, which has a few more bars, and a good choice of places to eat, including an excellent Japanese, a good Thai and a couple of good up-market restaurants. We'd definitely go back.

Pages