Fernie Reviews

Read honest reviews, direct from our customers.

If you’ve recently returned from this resort, we’d love to hear from you.

If no reviews are available yet, ask for first-hand advice from Ski Safari staff who have visited this resort. Call us on 01273 224060.

Leave a Review

26/03/2019 David Chalmers

Good. We're probably colored by the fact that there was no new snow for a long time! Blues cover a huge range, and many are very dark blue. Great area, but not as good for a less confident intermediate as the lift map suggests.

12/02/2019 Jon Dunkelman

Skiiing - Uncrowded slopes and no lift queues. Skiiing is a little one-paced as Fernie consists of five bowls most of which are fairly similar. The top Polar Peak lift was only open on three days. Some lifts are slow. Probably a lack of fresh snow didn't help. Not a resort for the beginner as a lot of the slopes are quite steep. Mountain village - Has a useful shop for basics. Town - Nice, accessible, good shops, a cinema. Great bagel cafe.

16/04/2018 Anwen Jones

We would not recommend this resort to intermediate skiers. There is a big jump from the beginner (green) slopes to many of the intermediate (blue) slopes marked on the piste map. And people should be made aware a good proportion of the blues are not groomed. For those just moving up from green to blue this is would be a bad choice. Especially when the clouds descend. So not a good all around family resort. Great if you are advanced - not so much fun if you are not - and I don't think that is made clear. We nevertheless had a good time and the sun came out!

28/03/2018 Peter Allen

Heavy snow meant restricted slopes initially but on day 2 and after runs were pisted excellent choice for all abilities. Old fashioned former mining town with plenty of choice of eateries and welcoming locals.

24/03/2018 Owain Baker

A wonderfully friendly, small mountain resort alongside a traditional Canadian coal-mining town full of charm. On mountain there is a small but encompassing selection of bars and restaurants, whilst in town there is an even larger choice. The resort is everything you could want for a true skiers holiday - convenient, friendly and not too harsh on the pocket!

19/03/2018 Paul Beard

Rain at the bottom when we arrived, and then a freeze. So had a good day at Kimberley (can use Fernie lift pass) to keep us going until the snow kicked in - and then it was deep powder for the next few days.

14/03/2018 Ian Laidlaw

Spectacular location, friendly resort, excellent accommodation, no lift lines, great ski conditions.

16/02/2017 Kirsty Hicks

Returned to Banff but Fernie was a first time visit. Absolutely loved it, nice and quiet, fantastic choice of skiing for all levels. Great for the intermediate skier, ski-in, ski-out worked really well.

19/01/2017 Thomas MacFadyen

The Resort may not have as much going for in terms of huge vertical as Revelstoke or Kicking horse but it does have a unique charm Really good tree riding and loads of good side hits. We were finding fresh snow here 5 days after a storm, I would go back to Fernie tomorrow

25/02/2016 Richard Hartwell

Awesome resort and nice to see it is still staying just enough off the main radar to keep it's individual feel. So quiet during the weeks

Pages