Fernie Reviews

Read honest reviews, direct from our customers.

If you’ve recently returned from this resort, we’d love to hear from you.

If no reviews are available yet, ask for first-hand advice from Ski Safari staff who have visited this resort. Call us on 01273 224060.

Leave a Review

19/03/2018 Paul Beard

Rain at the bottom when we arrived, and then a freeze. So had a good day at Kimberley (can use Fernie lift pass) to keep us going until the snow kicked in - and then it was deep powder for the next few days.

14/03/2018 Ian Laidlaw

Spectacular location, friendly resort, excellent accommodation, no lift lines, great ski conditions.

16/02/2017 Kirsty Hicks

Returned to Banff but Fernie was a first time visit. Absolutely loved it, nice and quiet, fantastic choice of skiing for all levels. Great for the intermediate skier, ski-in, ski-out worked really well.

19/01/2017 Thomas MacFadyen

The Resort may not have as much going for in terms of huge vertical as Revelstoke or Kicking horse but it does have a unique charm Really good tree riding and loads of good side hits. We were finding fresh snow here 5 days after a storm, I would go back to Fernie tomorrow

25/02/2016 Richard Hartwell

Awesome resort and nice to see it is still staying just enough off the main radar to keep it's individual feel. So quiet during the weeks

01/04/2015 Peter Allen

Great way to start a Ski Safari - good mix of runs to find your ski legs.

23/03/2015 David Horwood

Unfortunately, as with the other Canadian resorts this year, we did not hit Fernie at its best. Snowfall was poor, nevertheless we made the most of it as the groomers did a fantastic job with what they had available. Of the runs that were open, they worked very hard to keep them skiable. This did, however, leave very few shallow blues and greens available on the lower mountain. For skiers new to Fernie, please note the blues are steep and would be classed as blacks in resorts like Whistler and Lake Louise!

07/01/2015 Jeff Haddon

Fernie is a lovely town, the ski hill only a short drive away. Fernie gets legendary snowfall and didn't disappoint despite the base being low this year in Canada. Fresh snow on 3 days out of 4 and 20 cm on our departure day! There are green lower runs off elk and deer chair but the deer chair needs a refurb though the lift people will slow for beginners. The Blues are good for intermediates with bear the steepest. The bowls all have their own hidden gems with secret snow stashes. Some difficult to get to hence holding the snow for longer. Outside holiday times the resort is quiet but there is a 20cm rule for school and businesses. The polar peak chair may add vertical but it is not open regularly and if windy the chutes are a challenge and the blue track not really suitable. However there is enough for everyone and access to territory unpatrolled eg fish bowl and mammoth head, if the trickier traverse routes providing chutes and steeps and long mogul runs like sky dive are exhausted. There is a beginner park off deer with boxes and rails. I didn't head up Siberia where they used to have jumps and the boarder cross wasn't at the Deer chair this year. I would recommend Fernie and we went as part of a trip from Revelstoke which is a long drive but ok during the day. We ate at Kelsey's, park place Max restaurant, the Bridge bistro and the Sandford Indian restaurant. Often North American fare but there are others in town, however when the curry says hot that is what you get.

02/04/2014 Debbie Robinson

The mountain is AMAZING but the town is a little disappointing - not as much to do or places to eat as other resorts we've been to.

11/02/2014 Nik Saunders

Fernie's a great place to ski with varied terrain to suit almost everyone (probably except early intermediates.) Runs seem a little steeper here than in Europe. Each bowl has it's own character and you will need at least a week to really get to grips with this resort. The best food in the evening is found in the Corner Lodge in resort across the car park and The Pantry is the in resort general store 70 yards away.